So you want to be an Occupational Psychologist?

keep calm 2Over the last year I’ve met more and more aspiring Occupational Psychologists at varying stages of trying to get into the profession and it really reminded me of the journey I took to get where I am now. That journey wasn’t easy.

Oh no not at all! Lots of ‘helpful’ suggestions but no real advice from anyone ‘in the know’. Scrap that, there just wasn’t any advice and I couldn’t find anyone ‘in the know’.

I knew I needed get the Master’s but after that I was completely free styling it!  Getting my first job took sheer determination, a significant amount of stubbornness and ultimately a bit of a  lucky break.

As a result I’ve always seen it as a bit of a personal mission of mine to do what I can to share with any other aspiring Occ Psychs the lessons I learnt the hard way and if I can make anyone else’s journey just that little bit easier then I’ll be a happy bunny.

Up to this point sharing the benefit of my experiences has been fairly ad hoc and any advice provided has been given to those whom I’ve either stumbled across or who have sought me out.  However, as I’m rapidly hurtling towards my 10 year anniversary as a real live ‘proper’ psychologist I thought it was about time I gave some structure to the advice and pearls of wisdom I’ve been dishing out… and if this series of blogs makes it onto the radar of just one person who wants to be an Occ Psych but doesn’t have a clue where to start then I’ll consider it mission accomplished!

To start with, over the next few weeks I’ll be spilling my guts, dragging out of the memory banks, and generally pulling together every bit of advice I can think of about how to become a real, live, practicing “No, I’m not a student, Yes, I really am a Psychologist”.

For ease of reading I’ll be splitting this first series of blogs into three parts, broadly covering the before, during and after of completing the Masters – ‘cos that’s the bit everyone knows about!  So, working with that familiar point of reference, I’ll cover:

  • Part 1: How to choose your Msc course
  • Part 2: How to make the most of your Msc
  • Part 3: Now what? What do to once you’ve got the Msc

That way, you can just read the sections that are relevant to you, depending on where in that journey to becoming an Occ Psych you find yourself.

Finally, before we start I’d like to just remind you that all suggestions contained within these series of blogs are my own and despite how highly I may think of my opinions they by no way represent the definitive ‘one truth’ about how to become an Occupational Psychologist*.

So, let’s get started. I’ll meet you on the other side.  Click on for Part 1: How to choose your Msc…

Maria

*Alternative views are available!

One thought on “So you want to be an Occupational Psychologist?

Leave a Reply

